Hidden In His Quiver.

I am so excited! So very expectant of what is to come!

I’m writing this while in a heavy state of post-traumatic praise, or let’s call it a Holy Ghost Hangover! This past weekend was all sorts of amazing and 30.04.17 is engraved in my heart, forever. It all started on Friday morning when I received the logo for my blog. It’s wonderful how the graphic designer designed it exactly how I wanted it. It might not be a big deal to you but to me, this is EVERYTHING!

I always admire the bloggers with the extravagant branding and clean profiles. So professional! I also wanted nice fonts and crazy-cool images, but self-doubt and indecisiveness used to be such a big thing for me. I would put something together that I really like, then wake up the next day not liking it as much as I did before. But this time it was different. I knew the colors I wanted, I knew which elements I wanted to use in the design, and I was 100% certain. I appreciated the feeling of certainty so much. I didn’t even consult with my inner circle before finalizing it. I didn’t run it by anybody for approval coz my spirit was okay with it. It represented me!

Allow me to share the significance of the elements with you. My name, Ruth Abercrombie, is written in a fancy-ish font using a grey colour. This tells the story of how I have committed to dying to self and to my natural desires to pursue my God-given purpose, but found myself time and again concerned with the things of this world and of how people view me, trying to keep up appearances. PURSUING PURPOSE is written in all caps because God has called me and confirmed His calling upon my life. It is also a lowkey reminder for me to be BOLD in my writing and sharing. The arrow represents my willingness to go in any direction God sends me. It represent the courage to move forward. I didn’t pay any attention to colour psychology or the rules for branding to create feels etc, but I just knew that the arrow (that represents me) had to be golden – different to the grey me because I went through a process and He has given me beauty for ashes. He turned my mess into a message and my trial into triumph,  and He has made all things new. The scripture explains all of this …

 

 

Isaiah 49:1-3 New International Version 

The Servant of the Lord

49 Listen to me, you islands;
    hear this, you distant nations:
Before I was born the Lord called me;
    from my mother’s womb he has spoken my name.
He made my mouth like a sharpened sword,
    in the shadow of his hand he hid me;
he made me into a polished arrow
    and concealed me in his quiver.
He said to me, “You are my servant,
    Israel, in whom I will display my splendor.

 I got stuck on the idea of being concealed in God’s quiver, even after the preparation and polishing was done. The unlearning and undoing has been done yet still the quiver seemed like such a nicer and safer place to be at than being sent and being used by God. I was comfortable with being reserved for the right time.  Little did I know that the time has come to its fullness. Sitting behind the keyboard of my PC sharing blog posts wasn’t enough anymore. I needed to do the things that will make the things of Revelations 1:11 to be done. Saying ‘no’ and making excuses to not commit to speaking engagements was not gna be happening anymore coz me shying away might cause other young ladies to walk the same path I did when my testimony could have prevented so much. There is a difference between being hidden in his quiver and you hiding away. God wants to use us, and I am more than a willing servant!

 

7 Comments

Leave a Reply

